Joint Replacement and a Game of Bridge?

Joint Replacement and a Game of Bridge?

Reston Hospital's Total Joint Team

This week, I received a call from a recent joint replacement patient.  This patient is in her 80’s and has had two knees and her hip replaced at Reston Hospital Center.  She called me directly to comment on her experience.  Interestingly, she routinely plays bridge with some of her friends and recently, the respective players’ healthcare experiences became the topic of conversation.  This patient went into great detail with her friends (opponents in this case) about the care she received at Reston Hospital Center.   While she was very complimentary of the clinical care she received, she spent much of the conversation talking about the personalized touch that the staff on the surgical floor provided for both her and her family.  It reminded me that it is most often the little things that staff do that makes the biggest impression.

 She commented on how open and willing the staff was to having her daughter stay in her room overnight through her hospital stay and then they offered her daughter coffee in the morning.  This attention to detail made her feel welcomed and reemphasized how important the patient’s family is to the care.  She mentioned the kindness and compassion shown by the nursing and physical therapy staff that focused not only on her needs, but also her safety as they double-checked the medicine each time they gave it.  At Reston Hospital Center,  we  don’t spend as much on marketing as some hospitals because we strongly believe that word of mouth is a more meaningful and powerful multiplier of the good news.  I would rather our money be spent at the bedside and on the support teams that are committed to serving our patients.  We are fortunate to have a compassionate team caring for those who need it most.   I want to express a personal thank you to the surgical unit team that made this patient’s experience a positive memory.  

What has been your experience at Reston as a patient or the family member of a patient?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Joint Replacement and a Game of Bridge?

  1. Nancy Susco says:

    Tim,

    Thank you for sharing such a great story about the Total Joint Team. It takes a team effort to provide the care for those patients. It is nice for all the staff involved to be recognized for their hard work.

  2. mary Ganger says:

    A year ago my husband was a patient at Reston Hospital Center on a weekly basis in Short Stay. They treated him like family. When he came into the unit they always greeted him by name and with a smile. Because they knew he was always cold they had a warm blanket ready even before he asked. My husband tried to distract himself from thinking about his condition or his pain or worries by talking to people. Very often the staff were busy– but they always seemed to have time for him and they made sure to chat about the news of the day or a new joke they heard I think becasue they knew this was important to him. He would often ask about their families and tell them about his and he really got to know everyone in short stay and IR which meant a lot to him. After he became more ill and frail they looked out for him by wheeling him out to the car instead of walking him out and they kept him in a warm area while waiting for the car to come. He was in the department every week for over six months and He was always made to feel welcome. Two weeks ago it was the anniversary of his death. I still can’t believe that he is really gone. I often think of the loving care that was given to him while he was a patient here, not only in the Short Stay but in CCU, PCU and finally on the Medical Unit. The professionalism, the caring, the way everyone looked out for him and for me, meant the world to us both. I will never forget and I will always be so proud to work in such an organization.

    • Cindy Glover says:

      Mary, such a wonderful tribute to so many areas of the hospital that touched Tom’s life. I realize what a great place this is to work, but once you are a patient or have a family member be one, the feeling towards the staff triples in your admiration for what everyone does.

  3. Tim McManus says:

    Mary — Thank you for sharing your story. I am so glad I had a chance to meet your husband before he passed. You are really an inspiration to us all as was Tom. We are fortunate to have such a compassionate nursing leader and educator like you helping remind us how important it is to make personal connections to those we serve.

  4. Sue Schwartz says:

    After I broke my ankle, I was on Nancy’s unit for a week. Nancy was in everyday, checking up, her techs were great. An ortho unit is a very tough place to work, with all the lifting and slow moving, etc. I was worried about ever using the call light because as a nurse, you know what they are going through. I actually had one of her techs come in and tell me he was here to help me and why wasn’t I ever calling! Can you imagine someone requesting you use the call bell? I was impressed…Nancy runs a tight ship, kudos to her!

  5. Alisa Rooney RN-BC says:

    Thank you for sharing this patient’s experience-it is always wonderful for the staff to hear that their efforts are appreciated. I want to thank my peers for so often going above and beyond to make the joint experience seemless and positive! On another note-I have had outpatient surgery here at Reston as has one of my children and I can tell you I truly felt so safe and well cared for by every person that was involved in my care and I felt so secure knowing my son was being cared for by the same group of people. I feel privileged to work with such outstanding caregivers (throughout the building).

  6. Maliha says:

    My mother was at Reston Hospital in 2003 due to her kidney stone. She had barely landed in United States about 3 weeks ago and was in much pain since then. When my dad brought her to the ER, the Dr. Lisse told her that she had kidney stone and they would need to admit her. My mom ended up staying for about a week at the surgical unit but she had great experience. The same nurse would greet her every morning. In spite of the language barrier, as my mom could not clearly speak english, the nurse was very caring and affectionate towards her. I personally believe a patient gets more frustratrated when they cannot communicate their needs, but on the contrary my mom was very happy to be there and the great care she received, She was surprised that the surgeon actually visited her twice and even showed her the stone they took out. He joked with her to keep it as a souvenior !!! I think that my mom’s experience was another major factor that wanted me to work for such an awesome place and be part of a compassionate team striving for excellence.

  7. Jennifer Legler says:

    In June 2006, my daughter Julia, a new college grad, had spinal surgery. I too remember the nursing staff not minding at all that I, who happened to be a nurse, would stay each night with her. The first night, I was cold, as I had not dressed for the room that was just the right temp for my healing daughter. On her last rounds, the evening nurse brought a warm thermal blanket in, and placed it on top of me saying, there you go Mom, you stay warm.

Leave a Reply

