Day 2–Compassion

This week we’re talking about the hospital’s recently updated core values. We now have an easy acronym, which should make sense for anyone in our hospital—I CARE. It stands for Integrity, Compassion, Advocacy, Resourcefulness and Excellence. Yesterday, I shared the reasoning behind the revitalization of our values, and talked about the first value—Integrity.

Today, I’ll elaborate on our second value, compassion. This value really speaks to the heart of what we do and why we do it.  It is often what attracted many of us to train for careers in healthcare in the first place.  I strongly believe that employees who make the biggest impact on our patients chose their jobs because of the innate compassion they have towards those that they serve.  We want our employees to do work that they find impactful, meaningful and rewarding.  It is obvious when someone feels they are in the wrong job or feels burned out from the everyday tasks.  The patients who share positive comments with me are almost always referring to the compassion shown to them through their experience at Reston Hospital.

How does compassion play into your day to day, here at Reston Hospital Center or elsewhere? Is there a specific person (or act) that truly exemplifies what it means to live this value? On the flip side, how has compassionate care made a difference when you or a loved one was the patient?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 2–Compassion

  1. Cindy Glover says:

    Compassion is what this hospital runs on. I have experienced it myself from my boss (that would be Tim) who not only showed concern when I was sick, but encouraged me to worry about myself and not my work. Or when, Jane Raymond went with me wig shopping and twirled around the shop in a long red haired wig and made a difficult situation very funny. I see it with the nursing directors and nursing staff all the time. Nancy Susco is one of the most compassionate people I know with her staff. There is not a wedding, funeral, baby shower, graduation or anything that she misses and that is tough when you have 115 nursing personel to keep up with! Meggan Klippen, a nurse in the ED is not only responsible for precepting the new grads (talk about having to show compassion!) but has always been available to help her peers outside the hospital, and I can remember her going to Target to buy some new parents a car seat because they didnt have one. I could go on and on. I am thankful I am in a position to witness all the compassion that is shown in this building and I am grateful to the people that constantly show it.

  2. Pingback: Day 3: Advocacy |

  3. Diane McFarland says:

    Compassion truly is at the core of the care provided by the staff on the Medical Oncology unit. The greatest testament I believe to the compassionate care provided by the staff is when patients and families come back to visit and thank the staff in person for the care they gave. And this isn’t just true for the patients that have a positive outcome but it is also true for the families that allowed us to care for their loved one during their final hours.

  4. Holly L. Norris says:

    I see the compassion daily in staff faces as I round through units. Sometimes, I see staff crying or holding back tears because of their patient’s medical condition. I was personally touched by our staff’s compassion last year, when I lost my best friend Snoopy (miniature schnauzer) of 10 yrs. I was heartbroken. I am still saddened today when I think about how much I miss him. I thought others might think my reaction was silly, so I tried to keep it to myself, which turned out to be impossible. When staff found out they were very comforting, supportive, and compassionate. I remember being at the mall and not being able to stop crying. Before I could run out of the store, one of our massage therapists from maternity saw me and gave me a long tight hug. Her kindness touched me and made me feel better. I received hugs from other staff too. Engineers, Pharmacy techs, Nurses, Lab tech, OR staff, Case Managers, Directors, Administrators and even Physicians gave their condolences. My staff and others sent me cards. After that I realized just how compassionate our staff is and how much they really care about each other. I truly feel blessed to work with such caring people.

  5. Maureen E. Townsend says:

    True compassion is displayed by the staff on PCU everyday. Fromthe smallest act to the biggest, I see it all the time. There was a patient on the PCU that had been here for quite some time. An attachement had been built between the patient, family and staff. She was in a bit of discomfort, especially when PM care needed to be delivered. I would watch as the staff made the time and effort to get as many people involved to help with the care so that it could be done efficiently, quickly and with as little pain as possible to the patient. Many went out of their way to help and accomodate this patient. We are given the opportunity to help people at such a difficult time and watching the staff care for this patient and many others demonstrate the compassion that they have for the profession as well as the patients.

  6. Pingback: Day 4: Resourcefulness |

Leave a Reply

