Building on Core Values 2012

Over the recent months, I have received a lot a great feedback from employees, physicians and Board members on Reston Hospital’s vision, core values and strategic plan.  This is a great time to clarify our plans for the future while we continue to celebrate our 25th anniversary.  Through this milestone, we have celebrated many of the successes of our past; however, I believe that it is just as important to focus on the next 25 years.

I will be talking about some of these ideas during my CEO Town Hall meetings over the next few weeks.  During the re-examination of our core values it became clear that they needed to be simplified in a way that more closely embodied our hospital’s culture.  Through that reflective process, the Board of Trustees adopted the core values that we developed under the Acronym ICARE, which stands for Integrity, Compassion, Advocacy, Resourcefulness and Excellence.  This week, I’ll elaborate a bit on each of these values, starting with the first.

Integrity: Do the right thing no matter what.  You either have it or you don’t.   The employee that fits our culture knows the difference between doing the right and wrong thing.  If you see something that doesn’t align with high integrity, raise the red flag, stop what is occurring, and bring it to someone’s attention.

I invite you to share how integrity plays a role in your day to day, whether it’s here at Reston Hospital Center, at another place of business, or at home. Do you have a specific example of how it guided a decision or of a person that you think exemplifies this value?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Building on Core Values 2012

  1. Phillip Webb, Director Perioperative Services says:

    I think that in nursing a core tenet of integrity is our foundation of patient advocacy. It is doing the right thing for our patients no matter how hard or challenging it may be. Thanks Phillip Webb

  2. Ben Brown says:

    I am always impressed with the integrity of our staff. A few weeks ago, one of our EVS staff members went out of the way to help a patient. The patient had come in through the ED and their clothes were dirty. Our EVS staff offered to wash the garments before the patient was discharged. When the clothes were returned, the patient received folded and cleaned clothes, in addition to a large amount of money that had been left in their pants pocket. The staff member in EVS not only went above and beyond to care for the patient, but also displayed integrity in making sure the patient’s money got back to them.

  3. Nancy Susco says:

    I am always amazed at the integrity displayed every day in our hospital. What comes to mind to me today is the integrity displayed by our case managers, Maureen Gill, Myriam Zinn and Kim Peace. They always ensure that all of our patients have a safe discharge plan even when they have to battle the family or physicians to make sure that takes place. They are often the first ones, with the help of nursing, to identify that the plan proposed by the family or physician may not work. Once that happens they develop a new plan, one which protects the patient and then makes sure that it is carried out. Sometimes that is not an easy task but it definitely represents integrity in our work place.

    Nancy Susco

    • Julie Widman says:

      Thank you for the acknowlegement of the case managers on your unit. I have always been proud to be working with an amazing group of women. Having been a case manager at Reston since 1994, I have seen so many changes and an increase in the challenges for the staff. Maureen Gill and other staff members are always bringing me books, articles, and ideas on how to see the world from a more peaceful or humorous view. The case managers could not do their jobs without the help from the entire RHC team, including: nursing, physicians, rehab therapy, registration, all of the ancillary services, and I won’t forget to mention–the urgent calls to administration for help. Many of our cases are resolved because of the ICARE culture of RHC. Thank you all.

  4. Mic Adams says:

    Tim, for myself Integrity means one thing:
    1) What I do when no one is looking.and I know I most likely will not get any recognition for taking the proper actions. You know when it is the right thing to do.
    Mic Adams PT

  5. Kim Elliott Cardio says:

    Integrity is essential for respiratory care and displayed every day. They are given assignments throughout the hospital and they are self motivated to ensure each and every person on their list gets the care and treatments needed with compassion and respect. No matter what else happens during their day they perform flawlessly to ensure everyone is confident their RT has done all that they can do.

  6. Holly L. Norris says:

    When I think of integrity, words like trustworthy and honesty come to mind. I have been in the healthcare cleaning industry for 15yrs. From my experience, I found it common when items go missing the cleaning staff is among the first suspected. Thankfully, I can say I do not find that to be the norm here. I can also proudly say my cleaning staff are both trustworthy and honest. I could give countless examples where my staff has turned in lost items, such as cell phones, jewelry, money, and wallets. I can count on them to let me know when we missed something, broke something, or made a mistake even if they think we will get in trouble. They are also quick to let me know if they think I am wrong. I trust them like my family. They force me to raise the bar daily = ) Holly L. Norris, EVS Dir

    • Cyndee Hochstrasser says:

      Holly – I have had first hand expierence where a EVS staff member broke a clock while dusting in my office. They reported it right away and could have easily ignored it. I was happy to replace the clock and thankful that we have honest people around us!

  7. Pingback: Day 3: Advocacy |

  8. Diane McFarland says:

    On the Medical Oncology unit, nurses work very closely with ancillary departments, Case Management, and physicians to ensure patients are not only clinically stable to be discharged but also emotionally and psychosocially ready. The staff works very hard and always seems to find the time to provide education to patients and families to ensure everyone is comfortable with the discharge plan. It is not uncommon for staff to stay past their shift so care and education is not fragmented and split between two shifts. It is this unselfish giving of their time and always putting patient’s first that demonstrates integrity to me. As Mic mentioned above, integrity is always doing the right thing no matter who is watching or if you receive recognition.

  9. Maureen E. Townsend says:

    Integrity is one of those qualities that mean and says a lot about a person. It is a quality that people take to heart and is a great banner to wear. Many question the import of it and question if doing the right thing is the right thing to do. I have to say that many of the staff on PCU have taken to heart the word and meaning of integerity as well as professionalism and done the right thing no matter if someone is watching or not. I commend these staff members and look forward to them serving as role models.

  10. Pingback: Day 4: Resourcefulness |

Leave a Reply

