Happy Holidays!

Buddy and Santa

Over the last few weeks, we have had an opportunity to celebrate the holidays with many of you during one of the festive meals on the day, evening and night shifts.  The Food Services team did a great job putting together a wonderful menu to ring in the holiday season.  As you can see from this photo, I branched away from the traditional Santa suit and donned my “Buddy the Elf” outfit.  I figured this look was much more slimming on me.  In all seriousness, I hope that you are able to spend time with your loved ones this season.  I feel so lucky to have the team we have at Reston Hospital caring for each other and our patients.  On a personal note, I have 3 children ages 4, 6 and 8 who find this holiday the highlight of their year, not just because of presents, but also the time we set aside to be together with friends and family.   Unfortunately, I know sometimes our families are spread across the country and the world so that isn’t always possible.  As you know, I often talk about Reston Hospital Center putting family first, so in the New Year we are going to continue focusing on ways that we can keep that priority intact.  I welcome your suggestions on steps we could take to continually strive for a good work/life balance.  Congratulations on a great 2011 and I look forward to seeing you all in the New Year.

Happy Holidays!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Holidays!

  1. Sara Short says:

    Wow! Finding a better work/life balance is my personal New Year’s resolution so I really appreciate that it’s the topic of your post. Living your values at home and at work is a good place to start…then set priorities from there. Find opportunites to “give back”, find time to connect with people you care about, make time to get outdoors and appreciate nature. These are going to be top priorities for me and I’m hopeful that if I keep these in mind I’ll be on the right track. Thanks for the reminder

  2. Alisa Rooney says:

    First of all, thanks to the food services team for creating such a wonderful meal in a very festive atmosphere. In terms of finding that good work/life balance, this is always a work in progress. I still derive great joy from my work life even after 28 years of nursing, but need to give a better effort in the balancing department! Luckily-I consider my co-workers on the surgical unit and throughout the hospital as part of my very large extended family! Happy New Year to all and hopes for a healthy, happy, and balanced 2012.

  3. Laura Geisen, RN CVRU says:

    Hi Tim,
    I agree that the food services did a wonderful job with the Christmas Dinner, I know we certianly appreciated it on night shift!!
    I also echo that we all need to find a good balance between work and life. This season showed my family that, we lost a family member on Christmas Eve and for my immediate family, all year we have been trying to make time to travel and visit our relative and we were never able to etch out that time in our work schedules. This recentered us on the importance of making the time and having balance.
    As for suggestions, I think to create a better work life balance, it is important to make sure everyone knows what resources are available to help them achieve this. Maybe you could have somewhere more detailed information about EAP somewhere, most people think of EAP as counseling if they are having issues however EAP has much more to offer to assist people with life situations.
    Maybe something related to exercise, a quarterly contest or something to incentivise staff to get moving. I know we offer the excercise center onsite, but something to make it fun and everyone loves a good contest to win something, i.e. a family night at Reston Town Center . . . I’ll post again if I come up with something better.
    Work life balance is a difficult one to tackle but important and I am glad you are putting it out there!!

Leave a Reply

